St Petersburg, Florida

12 March 2018

ST. PETERSBURG, Florida – If the opener is any indication, the Verizon IndyCar Series is in for one of its wildest seasons in 2018.

Will Power was chatty and smiling, sitting cross-legged on the pit wall. It was not the expected reaction after a two-time winner of the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg finished 10th in a resoundingly mundane day for a team that had won the race eight of 14 times heading into today.

This was a collection of unfortunate events for Simon Pagenaud, Power and defending series champion Josef Newgarden, who was seventh in the No. 1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet after contact with another car impacted his run.

Sebastien Bourdais repeated as winner of the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, but only after Robert Wickens and Alexander Rossi collided while battling for the lead on the next-to-last of 110 unpredictable laps around the tricky temporary street course.

Verizon IndyCar Series competitors and fans have some time to catch their breath before the next race. The Phoenix Grand Prix will be run under the at ISM Raceway on Saturday, April 7 2018.

Race for The Line

14 December 2017

Ilmor is pleased to share that we are sponsoring a local school in a competition called Race for The Line, where kids make rocket powered cars and try to set a record.  Please follow the link to for further information.

Management changes

12 December 2017

It is with some sadness that we announce the imminent retirement of Steve Miller, our Managing Director, who has been with Ilmor Engineering for many years, steering the business forward to help create the vibrant company we are today.

Steve O’Connor, who has been with Ilmor for over 22 years, will be taking over during the next few weeks. The transition will be smooth and seamless with everyone in support and looking forward to an exciting future.

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very happy Christmas and prosperous 2018.

Sonoma, California

18 September 2017

SONOMA, California – It couldn’t have been scripted any better for Team Penske. Of course, it turned out just the way Team Penske scripted it.

Simon Pagenaud won the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma to conclude the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season, while Team Penske teammate Josef Newgarden finished second to wrap up the championship.

As agreed to in the team’s pre-race strategy session, Pagenaud ran a four-stop strategy to perfection in beating Newgarden to the finish line by 1.0986 seconds to win the 85-lap race at Sonoma Raceway. It was the Frenchman’s 11th career victory and second straight on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn permanent road course. A year ago, Pagenaud won from the pole position at Sonoma to sew up his first championship.

Newgarden, the points leader heading into the race and pole sitter, stuck to the more traditional three-stop strategy and was rewarded with the runner-up finish in the race that earned his first season title and the $1 million champion’s prize. Newgarden’s margin of victory in the final standings was 13 points over Pagenaud and 21 over third-place Scott Dixon as the Verizon IndyCar Series crown was decided in the season finale for a 12th straight year.

The championship is the 15th for Team Penske, the most decorated team in Indy car history. Newgarden, in his first season with the team, joins the likes of Tom Sneva, Rick Mears, Al Unser, Danny Sullivan, Al Unser Jr., Gil de Ferran, Sam Hornish Jr., Will Power and Pagenaud drivers to win an Indy car title under the Team Penske banner.

The race ran caution-free for the first time in Sonoma Raceway history, which now spans 14 Indy car events. Newgarden and Pagenaud each led 41 laps on the varying strategies. Meanwhile, their other teammates filled key predesigned roles as well. Will Power played wing man and had Newgarden’s back. Helio Castroneves hounded Dixon – the only non-Penske driver in serious title contention – to make sure the Chip Ganassi Racing driver couldn’t make a run at the race win and championship.

Power finished the race in third to give Team Penske a podium sweep. Dixon did get past Castroneves late for fourth place, which settled the four-time champion into third place in the final 2017 standings.

The decisive race moment came when Pagenaud made his final stop from the lead for fuel and tires on Lap 64 in the No. 1 DXC Technology Team Penske Chevrolet. He returned to the track just ahead of the charging Newgarden and held on to first place as the teammates battled around the track. From there, Pagenaud kept Newgarden in his mirrors to the finish.

Pagenaud completed all 2,331 laps this season, becoming just the second driver to finish every lap in an Indy car season. Tony Kanaan was the first, completing all 3,305 laps when he won the 2004 championship.

Castroneves wrapped up fourth in the standings by finishing fifth in the race in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet. Completing his 20th year racing Indy cars, the 42-year-old Brazilian is still in search of his first series championship.

Power, the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion, earned fifth place in this year’s standings, with Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing sixth. Andretti Autosport secured the next three positions in the championship, with Alexander Rossi seventh, Takuma Sato eighth and Ryan Hunter-Reay ninth.

The race also marked the conclusion of the competitive aero kit era that began in 2015 between Chevrolet and Honda. INDYCAR has developed a universal aero kit to be used by all teams in 2018.

by Mark Robinson

Page 4 of 26 ‹ First  < 2 3 4 5 6 >  Last ›