News stories from March 2013

James Hinchcliffe Scores Career-First IZOD IndyCar Series Win

24 March 2013

James Hinchcliffe Scores Career-First IZOD IndyCar Series Win to Put Chevrolet V6 Power in Victory Lane

Team Chevy Drivers Capture Top-Four Finishing Positions and Six of Top-Seven

ST. PETERSBURG (Fla.) (March 24, 2013) – James Hinchcliffe made the right move at the right time to grab the lead on the final restart of the 110-lap race, and never looked back to score his career-first win in the IZOD IndyCar Series. Behind the wheel of the No. 27 Andretti Autosport Chevrolet, Hinchcliffe led a total of 26 laps on the 1.8-mile/14-turn temporary course on the Streets of St. Petersburg.

Today’s victory was the second consecutive for the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 in the season-opening Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

“I was so happy to get it done and get Go Daddy its first win in IndyCar,” said Hinchcliffe. “Chevrolet back in Victory Circle, one, two, three on the podium, podium sweep. My teammate on the podium. It's just a heck of a day!”

“Congratulations to James Hinchcliffe and the entire Andretti Autosport team on their win today on the Streets of St. Petersburg,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “We are proud to be part of James' first win with the Chevrolet IndyCar V6.”

Helio Castroneves, No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet, finished second to score his sixth top-five finish, including three victories, on the street course.

Marco Andretti, No. 27 RC Cola Andretti Autosport Chevrolet rounded out the podium for Team Chevy.

Tony Kanaan, No. 11 Hydroxycut KV Racing Technology Chevrolet was fourth. Simona de Silvestro, No. 78 Nuclear Entergy Areva KV Racing Technology Chevrolet finished in the sixth position and E.J. Viso, No. 5 Team Venezuela PDVSA Andretti Autosport Chevrolet was seventh at the checkered flag.

“Team Chevy’s Helio Castroneves, Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan, Simona de Silvestro and E.J. Viso all drove terrific races today helping deliver six of the top-seven finishing positions with Chevrolet power,” Campbell concluded. “Preparing for the 2013 IndyCar season has been a team effort with all the Chevrolet teams. It is a long season, but this is a solid way to start.”

Race number two of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series 19-race season will be Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham, Alabama on Sunday, April 7, 2013.

Will Power Puts Chevrolet V6 on Pole for Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

23 March 2013

Team Chevy Drivers Claim Four of Firestone Fast Six Qualifying Positions for the IZOD IndyCar Series Season-Opening Race

ST. PETERSBURG (Fla.) (March 23, 2013) – For the fourth consecutive year, Will Power, No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, will lead the starting field of the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg (Fla.) to the green flag. With a lap of 01:01.2070, 105.870 m.p.h., Power won the 30th pole of his career.

Four of the Firestone Fast Six Drivers were powered by the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 Twin Turbo Direct Injected Engine. Simona De Silvestro, No. 78 Nuclear Entergy Areva KV Racing Technology Chevrolet, will start third in Sunday’s 110-lap race. James Hinchcliffe, No. 27 GoDaddy.Com Andretti Autosport Chevrolet, will roll off fourth and Helio Castroneves, No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet, who has won the St. Petersburg race three times, will start fifth.

“Congratulations to Will Power and Team Penske on winning the pole for the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg,” said Chris Berube, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, IZOD IndyCar Series. “This is a very good way to start the opening weekend of the season for Chevrolet. It is difficult to know if your off season efforts were sufficient, so we were anxious to see how we measured up. The race tomorrow will be the true test and I am looking forward to an exciting race.”

Also starting in the top-10 for Team Chevy are: Marco Andretti, No. 25 R.C. Cola Andretti Autosport Chevrolet – seventh; defending IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, No. 1 DHL Andretti Autosport Chevrolet – eighth and Sebastian Saavedra, No. 6 True Car Dragon Racing Chevrolet – ninth.